The annual MLA/MAT Symposium features a selection of MLA Special Projects and MAT Action Research Projects. Presentations begin at 12:45 p.m. and continue until 5:15 p.m. In the evening, Angelique Montgomery Goodnough will receive the 2012 MLA Alumn Award, and Vera Cruz will receive the annual MAT Alumni Award. The award winning novelist, Joe O'Connell, will read from EVACUATION PLAN, winner of the North Texas Book Award. The novel has also been a finalist for the Violet Crown Book Award and an official selection of the 400-chapter Pulpwood Queen's Book Club