History of St. Edward's

Journey into the New World

In 1841, Father Edward Sorin courageously embarked on a journey across the Atlantic to establish Notre Dame and St. Edward’s universities. For more than 125 years, we’ve carried his passion for educating all who would seek to transform themselves, regardless of societal status, religious affiliation or ability to pay. And, along the way we’ve changed a lot, too. See for yourself how far we’ve come …


Explore our 90+ Academic Programs