Jan. 31, 2023

Kirk Watson, Mayor of Austin, Texas

Commencement Speaker Kirk Watson

AUSTIN, Texas — St. Edward’s University is honored to have Kirk Watson, Mayor of the City of Austin, Texas, serve as the Commencement Speaker for the class of 2023.

Mayor Watson earned his bachelor’s degree in political science and Juris Doctor from Baylor University. He previously served as Austin’s city leader from 1997 to 2001, as well as in the Texas Senate from 2006 to 2020. He has a wealth of knowledge and experience across the public policy spectrum — spanning three decades — on issues involving education, air quality, transportation, affordability and healthcare.

Mayor Watson has received numerous accolades over the years for his efforts in public policy, including the prestigious Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service by The American Medical Association, Open Government Lawmaker of the Year award by The Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas, Friend of the First Amendment by the Texas Press Association, and Austinite of the Year by The Austin Chamber of Commerce.

Spring 2023 commencement will take place on May 6 at 2 p.m. on the Lewis-Chen Family Field at St. Edward’s University, followed by the iconic Legacy Walk and Red Door Revelry.

About St. Edward’s University:

St. Edward’s University is a private university in the Catholic, Holy Cross tradition with approximately 3,600 students. Located in Austin, Texas, it is one of the top universities in the state and offers more than 55 undergraduate and 8 graduate programs. St. Edward’s delivers a premier, highly personalized education that provides students distinctive academics and extensive internships, research and service learning opportunities on a vibrant and inclusive hilltop campus in a world-class city. St. Edward’s has been recognized for 20 consecutive years as one of “America’s Best Colleges” by U.S. News & World Report. In the 2022-2023 Best Colleges rankings, St. Edward’s remains in the list of top 10 Best Regional Universities in the West for the 4th consecutive year.