Sponsored by the School of Arts and Humanities, the Marcia Kinsey Visiting Writers Series brings award-winning writers to campus to read from their work, talk about their writing, and interact with our students.

Both the St. Edward's and larger Austin community benefit from the novelists, poets, and playwrights who come to campus. These working artists inspire students and add dimension to professors' curriculum. For more information about the Marcia Kinsey Visiting Writers Series, please contact Assistant Professor Sasha West at swest1 [at] stedwards.edu.

Visiting Writers Logo

Visiting Writers Enjoy A Hilltop Welcome

Visiting Writers Enjoy A Hilltop Welcome

Students at St. Edward’s had the chance to meet three highly accomplished writers this fall when Jonathan Safran Foer, Mindy Kaling and Eula Biss visited campus. Read More.

2018-2019 Visiting Writers

Natalia Sylvester
Wednesday, October 3, 2018  6:00pm
Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Photo of author Natalia Sylvester

Born in Lima, Peru, NATALIA SYLVESTER came to the US at age four and grew up in Florida and the Rio Grande Valley in Texas. She earned her BA in creative writing from the University of Miami, is a faculty member of the low-residency MFA program at Regis University, and works as a freelance writer in Austin. Her work has appeared in Bustle, Catapult, Electric Literature, Latina magazine, and the Austin American-Statesman. Natalia’s first novel, Chasing the Sun, was named the Best Debut Book of 2014 by Latinidad. Her latest novel, Everyone Knows You Go Home, has been named a Best Book of 2018 by Real Simple magazine and is a finalist for the International Latino Book Awards.

Funded in part by the Texas Commission on the Arts.


Diane Seuss
Thursday, November 8, 2018  6:30 pm
Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Black and White photo of poet Diane Seuss

DIANE SEUSS is the author of four collections of poetry, most recently, Still Life with Two Dead Peacocks and a Girl. Her book Four-Legged Girl was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and Wolf Lake, White Gown Blown Open won the Juniper Prize. Her poetry has appeared in The New Yorker, American Poetry Review, Poetry, The Iowa Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, and Best American Poetry 2014. Seuss was Writer in Residence for many years at Kalamazoo College and has been the MacLean Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Department of English at Colorado College. She was raised in rural Michigan, which she continues to call home.


Carrie Fountain
Thursday, February 7, 2019  6pm
Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Color photo of poet and novelist Carrie Fountain

CARRIE FOUNTAIN’s debut collection, Burn Lake, was a National Poetry Series winner. She is the author of a second collection, Instant Winner, and a novel, I'm Not Missing. Her poems have appeared in Tin House, Poetry, and The New Yorker, among others. Fountain is the host of NPR's This Is Just to Say, a radio show and podcast where she talks to contemporary poets about the poems they make and the poems they love. Born and raised in Mesilla, New Mexico, Fountain received her MFA as a fellow at the James A. Michener Center for Writers at the University of Texas. She is currently the writer-in-residence at St. Edward's University and a Visiting Professor at the Michener Center.


Jericho Brown
Tuesday, April 16, 2019  6pm
Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Color photo of poet Jericho Brown

JERICHO BROWN is the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Brown’s first book, Please, won the American Book Award. His second book, The New Testament, won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and was named one of the best of the year by Library Journal, Coldfront, and the Academy of American Poets. His new collection, The Tradition, will be published in 2019. His poems have appeared in the New York Times, New Yorker, New Republic, Buzzfeed, and Pushcart Prize Anthology. He is the director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University.

 Partnership with Office of Sponsored Programs

Previous Visiting Writers

Previous Visiting Writers Series speakers include:

  • Kazim Ali
  • Eula Biss
  • Oscar Caseres
  • Cyrus Cassells
  • Ana Castillo
  • Denise Chavez
  • Lucille Clifton
  • Natalie Diaz
  • Steven Dietz
  • Doug Dorst
  • Nathan Englander
  • Tarfia Faizullah
  • Carrie Fountain
  • Ben Fountain
  • Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Jorie Graham
  • Virginia Grise
  • Joy Harjo
  • Terrance Hayes
  • Marie Howe
  • A Van Jordan
  • Phillip Levine
  • Karan Mahajan
  • Sarah Manguso
  • Elizabeth McCracken
  • Dinaw Mengestu
  • Debra Monroe
  • Dinty Moore
  • Naomi Shihab Nye
  • Gary Soto
  • Jean Valentine
  • Derek Walcott
  • Monica Wood
  • Dean Young