Before visitors set foot on campus, they can see and hear the Main Building. Seated on the hilltop, the red roof peeks above trees and a bell rings to greet them.
To help preserve the Texas Historic Landmark, the J.E. and L.E. Mabee Foundation will give St. Edward's $500,000 toward its restoration project if the university can raise $1.2 million by April 15, 2016.
The last renovation was completed in 1986 which brought the building up to city code and repaired the framework of exterior walls.
Now repairs are needed to fix the central tower, metal shingle roof, wooden framed windows, limestone and brick masonry. Mechanical upgrades and interior repairs are also needed.
Main Building was built in 1888, and despite a fire in 1903 and damage from a tornado in 1922, it remains one of St. Edward's most iconic buildings.
The university will raise $3 million for the Main Building restoration project toward the $10 million goal as part of the Campus Master Plan. The money will go toward improvements to the university’s academic, residential and recreational facilities.
The remaining funds will be supplemented by the university.
The Fondren Foundation ($800,000), the Cullen Trust for Higher Education ($250,000), and the Brown Foundation ($200,000)—as well as the Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau Heritage Grants Program ($30,000) already have pledged $1.3 million to support the project.
If you would like to contribute to the Main Building project, please contact Allison Rasp '98, MLA '04, Director of Development, Foundation Relations, at 512-416-5888 or allisonm [at] stedwards.edu.