Core Curriculum Contact
Assistant Director of General Education Jennifer Ansier, jennj [at]
Associate Vice President for General Education Cory Lock, Professor of University Studies, julial [at]
General Education Oversight Committee 2018-2019

Cory Lock, AVP for General Education, Chair

Sheila Alicea (HDE rep), Associate Professor of Kinesiology

Jason Callahan (NSCI rep), Associate Professor of Mathmatics

Matthew DeSantis, Assistant Director for Institutional Assessment

Katherine Lopez (MSB rep), Assistant Professor of Accounting

Rodrigo Nunes (BSS rep), Assoicate Professor of Global Studies (Selin Guner in SP19)

Mary Rist (AHMX rep), Professor of Writing and Rhetoric



Core Curriculum Requirement                                             


Freshman Seminar

Alex Barron, Interim Director of First-Year Experience

Writing & Rhetoric I

Writing & Rhetoric II

Manuel Pina, Visiting Instructor, Writing and Rhetoric

Moriah McCracken, Director of the First-Year Writing Program

Oral Communication

Stephanie Martinez, Oral Communication Coordinator

Modern Languages

Philippe Seminet, Chair of Languages, Literatures and Cultures Department


Mark Cherry, Chair of Philosophy Department 

Religious and Theological Studies

Steve Rodenborn, Chair of Religious and Theological Studies Department

Quantitative Reasoning 

Edward Early, Associate Dean of Natural Sciences

Natural Sciences 

Richard Kopec, Interim Chair of Forensic Science

Creativity and Making

Coordinator: Jimmy Luu, Visual Studies

Additional committee members:

  • Mary Helen Specht, Writing
  • Kathryn Eader, Theater Arts

Diverse American Perspectives

Coordinator: Laura Hernandez Ehrisman, University Studies

Additonal committee members:

  • Chad Long, Political Science
  • Catherine Rainwater, Literature

Exploring Artistic Works 

Coordinator: Barbara Filippidis, Literature

Additional committee members:

  • Brian Sheerin, Literature
  • Tammie Rubin, Visual Studies 

Global Perspectives 

Coordinators: Mity Myhr, History and Christie Wilson, History

Additional committee members:

  • Ali Dadpay, Business
  • Selin Guner, Global Studies
  • Florina Matu, French

Experiential Learning for Social Justice Mission Marker

Chair: David Thomason, Political Science
Louise Single, Accounting 
Lou Serna, Campus Ministry
Emily Bernate, Spanish
Andrea Holgado, Biology
Kris Sloan, Education
Jennifer Ansier, General Education

Social Identities Mission Marker

Chair: Michelle Robertson, Sociology
Tere Garza, Communication
Arcelia Hernandez, Education

Writing Rich Mission Markers

Chair: Drew Loewe, Writing
Mike Disch, Psychology
Lorelei Ortiz, Business 

Culminating Experience

Chair: AHUM: Mary Rist, Writing
BSS:  William Nichols, Political Science
HDE: Kristy Ballard, Kinesiology
MSB:  Louise Single, Accounting
NSCI: Bill Quinn, Biology