Within the organizational structure of St. Edward’s University, academic subjects are organized by schools, which are made up of programs, departments and areas.

St. Edward’s University Schools:

  • School of Arts and Humanities
  • School of Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • School of Human Development and Education
  • School of Natural Sciences
  • The Bill Munday School of Business

Graduate programs are offered within the university’s schools.

Programs, Departments and Areaas:

  • The Biology program is offered by the School of Natural Sciences.
  • The MBA program is offered by The Bill Munday School of Business.
  • The Department of History is within the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences.
  • The Art area coordinator organized the exhibit.

The word “program” is not capitalized, except in these cases:

  • Academic Counseling and Support Programs
  • Alumni and Parent Programs
  • College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP)
  • Fellows Program
  • Fulbright Program
  • Honors Program

 Administrative offices within the university are not referred to as departments:

  • “Marketing Office” instead of “Marketing Department”
  • “Office of Residence Life” instead of “Department of Residence Life”

Capitalize the official names of offices, otherwise, lowercase:

  • Contact the Office of Admission for an application.
  • Pick up an application at the admission office.

Note: Our university style spells “admission” as singular: “Admission” not “Admissions”